the nepotist

Most people don’t trust politicians, or at the very very least they don’t like the ones from the “other” side. The reality is that no matter which “constituency” for which a party claims to advocate, when the system is seen for what it is they are actually on the side of the money, regardless of where that money is coming from. PACs, corporations, wealthy donors, these are the true governing bodies.

i have no desire to launch into a discussion of the political system. i simply wish to point out that it is almost universally acknowledged that the system is largely broken because of favoritism and corruption, the extent of which we as voters probably do not even know even a fraction.

i have to catch myself when i start bringing my emotional PAC to bear against the sovereignty of the Father. Even though i would never openly admit to believing in any kind of prosperity theology, i nevertheless have a default setting that desires Him to rain His favor on me at my beck and call. There is no shortage of churches that teach exactly this type of theology, though it seems fairly evident to me from the life and teaching of Christ that this is NOT what He came to die for.

It was a challenging week for me. If i am honest, i freely admit that all of my problems are of the first-world variety, but nevertheless my emotional stability was tenuous at best. There were a great many factors involved in this, but suffice it to say that very few elements of my life were going “right” this week. i must offer at this point thanks to a friend (and to the Lord for providing him) for pointing out that most of my issues could be traced back to unmet expectations. i had been in a place of expecting a certain level of blessing from the Lord for my “efforts,” and not receiving said blessing was stirring up resentment in my heart.

***

Therefore we must pay much closer attention to what we have heard, lest we drift away from it.   – Hebrews 2 : 1

We don’t get from the place of truth to the place of lie in a giant leap very often. In most cases it is the tiny neglects, the minute variations in our course over time which, left unchecked, lead to finding ourself on the opposite side of the world. Looking back over the last several weeks of my life, i see dozens of seemingly innocuous actions which were carving this subtle groove into my heart, a groove that quickly became a rut, then a vast canyon with unscalable walls.

Having been mercifully lifted out of this mentality (for now) by the grace of community, i can see now that i wouldn’t trust a God who gave me everything i asked for anymore than we trust a politician who jumps at the whim of the big spenders. “For he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust.”  (Matthew 5 : 45)  Furthermore, if i find that what i am getting from God is not what i have been desiring, it is my definition of  “good” that is the problem, not God’s generosity. But even if He does hand out nothing but challenges, it is still His divine wisdom determining that which is best for me.

Tomorrow, i am sure, i will need to learn this lesson all over again.

***

Shall we receive good from God, and shall we not receive evil?    – Job 2 : 10

“I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”    – Jesus Christ

Leave a Reply

