an old love poem

Ok, so it’s not new. But it’s still applicable. And since I have been reading in Song of Solomon, appropriate.

*** 

for sara

 

Do you not sleep, my lady lark of dawn?

(whose voice ambrosia is to Zeus mine ear)

For I do not, you see.

I pace about like an automaton,

And find you sleepless, haunting me.

 

Do you not sleep, my lady morning sun?

(whose brilliance nearly makes mine eye to tear)

I hardly ever dare.

The dreams commence (‘fore sleep has yet begun!)

Always of you, my maiden fair.

 

Do you not sleep, my lady Guinivere?

(whose equal I shall never see appear)

I could not if I tried.

I never shall know rest again, I fear,

‘Till you at last are by my side.

***

Leave a Reply

