contentiously content

What kind of paradise am I looking for? 

I’ve got everything I want and still I want more…

From “Grey” by Ani DiFranco

***

contentiously content

Today
just there was a greying only
a staying lonely soul ,a solely,
a wholly holey unholy whole
Today
wise a bird in whitening sky
wide high flying just to fly
not wanton wanting whining why
could i
Today
have just blackening ungainly
mainly staying in the staining
waning fainting embers ,faintly
still aburn with auburn ,painting
warming me just for
Today

***

I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  – Philippians 4 : 12

***

Grey lyrics © 2003 Ani Di Franco / Righteous Babe Records

Leave a Reply

